Second DWI Offense in Albuquerque, New Mexico
Although a second DWI offense is still considered a misdemeanor, the penalties are quite severe.
Mandatory Jail Time
As with any misdemeanor charge, a second DWI offense carries the possibility of up to 364 days in jail. However, unlike first offenses, second DWI offenses entail a mandatory minimum of 48 hours in jail.
Financial Consequences of Second DWI Offenses
In addition to mandatory jail time, second DWI offenses come with high costs. Upon arrest, you must pay:
- $25 to schedule an administrative hearing with New Mexico MVD to recover your forfeited license and avoid license revocation
- $50 to schedule a hearing with the City of Albuquerque if your vehicle was seized
If you are convicted, the costs increase. You may be financially responsible for:
- Court costs and fees
- Victims’ fees
- Ignition interlock license, device installation and monthly maintenance
If your license was revoked (usually for a two-year duration for a second DWI offense), you may also have to pay a reinstatement fee to restore your driving privileges.
Expert Criminal Defense for Subsequent DWI Offenses
If you are facing charges for a second DWI offense, call the attorneys at Patrick J. Martinez & Associates. We focus our practice on DWI criminal defense, and we provide superior representation for those facing repeat DWI charges. Our lawyers know how investigate the circumstances surrounding your arrest and build a strong case in your defense. We fight to get your charges dismissed or reduced to minimize the penalties you face.
Contact us to schedule a free initial consultation at our Albuquerque, NM office. We provide representation at all administrative hearings at no extra charge for our criminal defense clients.