DWI Penalties in Albuquerque, New Mexico
If you drive on Interstates 40 or 25, you are likely aware of the push to crack down on DWIs in New Mexico. The State’s efforts to reduce the number of drunk driving accidents and deaths is reflected in the stringent penalties for DWI convictions.
Just being arrested for a DWI already carries financial consequences. In order to get your forfeited license back, you have to schedule a hearing with New Mexico MVD within 10 days of your arrest. In order to schedule the hearing, you must pay $25. If your car was impounded by the City of Albuquerque, you must also request a hearing within 10 days of your arrest to recover your vehicle. Scheduling that hearing requires a $50 application fee.
Throughout the criminal justice process, you may be responsible for other court costs and fees.
Penalties for First DWI Offenses
If you are convicted of DWI, penalties for first time offenders are still steep. The first DWI conviction carries the following consequences:
- Up to 364 days in jail
- Mandatory one year ignition interlock, which requires:
- Ignition interlock license
- Device installation
- Monthly lease
For more information, see First DWI Offenses.
Penalties for Subsequent DWI Offenses
After the first DWI conviction or if you face aggravated DWI charges, penalties increase in severity. Jail times, license revocation and ignition interlock durations are longer and fines are higher. Upon the fourth offense, you face felony charges.
Get Expert Criminal Defense
To keep your record free of DWI convictions and minimize the impact DWI penalties have on your life, you need experienced legal counsel. The criminal defense attorneys at Patrick J. Martinez & Associates have been focusing their practice on drunk driving defense for decades. We know how to build strong cases and fight to get your charges dismissed or reduced. Contact us to schedule a free initial consultation for criminal defense representation in the greater Albuquerque, NM area.