FAQs about Ignition Interlocks in New Mexico
The ignition interlock laws in New Mexico may allow you to drive while criminal DWI charges are pending or after a conviction. Learn more about how ignition interlock devices and licenses are used in New Mexico.
When is an ignition interlock device required?
In most cases, an ignition interlock device is required after a DWI conviction. However, if a driver refused a chemical BAC test at a traffic stop, they may have to get an ignition interlock device installed while criminal charges are pending as a penalty for violating New Mexico’s implied consent.
How long must an ignition interlock device be installed?
The length of time that an ignition interlock device is installed depends on how many DWI convictions a driver has on his or her record. For most cases, the device must be installed:
- One year for first offense
- Two years for second offense
- Three years of third offense
Fourth and subsequent offenses are felonies. If a driver does not face permanent license revocation, an ignition interlock device may be required for life.
If an ignition interlock device is required because of refusing a chemical BAC test, the minimum time is usually six months.
How much does an ignition interlock device cost?
On average an ignition interlock device costs $100 to install (a one-time fee) and $75 each month to maintain. For the first year, a driver can expect to pay about $1,000 for the interlock device and license.
Where do I get an ignition interlock device installed?
There are a number of ignition interlock installation service providers throughout the greater Albuquerque, NM area. The Motor Vehicle Department has a list. Consult www.mvd.newmexico.gov to find an ignition interlock installer in your area.
An experienced DWI defense lawyer from Patrick J. Martinez & Associates can help you understand how New Mexico ignition interlock laws may affect your case. Contact us to schedule a free initial consultation.