Juvenile DWI Lawyer
When a juvenile is arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), it can result in life-altering consequences. The DWI lawyers at Patrick J. Martinez & Associates are committed to minimizing disruption in your life during this difficult time by providing a strong, aggressive defense on your behalf.
New Mexico Underage Drinking and Driving Laws
In New Mexico, it is against the law to drink alcohol if you are under the age of 21. If anyone under the age of 21 is caught consuming alcohol, they may be charged with any of these underage drinking-related offenses, including:
- Minor in Possession
- Soliciting Alcohol
- Distributing Alcohol to Other Minors
- Possession of a False ID
Licensed drivers who are suspected of underage drunk driving can be detained under the Implied Consent Act. This is a consent you signed when you obtained your driver’s license. It states that you will submit to a BAC test if an officer arrests you for drinking and driving.
Penalties for Under 21 Drinking and Driving
- Jail time
- Supervised probation
- Alcohol classes and rehabilitation
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Mandatory ignition interlock for one year
- Revoked driving privileges
At Patrick J. Martinez & Associates, we are committed to protecting your rights and best interests throughout the entire DWI process. Our lawyers have over 25 years of experience providing successful criminal defense to New Mexico juveniles facing DWI charges. With a comprehensive knowledge of the laws and your case, we fight for the best possible outcome.
Contact a DWI Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been arrested for juvenile DWI, it is imperative to contact a lawyer as soon as possible. Patrick J. Martinez & Associates provides the clear, knowledgeable guidance you need to protect your best interests. Contact us today in Albuquerque for a FREE consultation!